Old Dogs and New Tricks

Thursday, Sept. 25 T
his matter of meditation has become a focus for me in recent months. Some months back, I found myself unable to sleep. My mind seemed to want to keep going even though my body wanted to rest. Sometimes, I would even wake up in the middle of the night and begin to think about things. At first, this was a bit of an annoyance to me. I even took aspirin to try to get to sleep. Eventually, I realized that some of my thoughts were productive. I often got out of bed in the middle of the night to write down something that came to me, things that were meaningful enough that I wanted to make sure I still had them when morning came. I’m a slow learner, so it took a few weeks to come to the conclusion that God was at work. I finally concluded that He was trying to get through to me at night because I was too busy during the day to give Him a chance to communicate with me. Once I caught on, it entirely changed my attitude toward my night time adventures. So God took the initiative to teach me something about meditation. I now spend more time meditating on Scripture during the day time, and I just now realized that my night time meditations have tailed off a bit. Maybe I’m not too old to learn—despite being an “old dog.”

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

