Pride

Wednesday, Nov. 26                         

“Pride is a bad word.”  I made this hasty little notation a few days ago and thought it was a nice little proverb.  Pride is often considered the root of all sin.  It is generally thought of as a negative trait.  As I meditated on this, I could not come up with anything positive about the word.  Strong’s concordance listed no reference that used the word in a positive sense.  That’s the KJV, however.  Then I accidentally came across a verse in the Bible that negated my neat little proverb.   I found that the NIV does use the word in a few cases in a positive sense.  Checking those same passages in the KJV I found words that were synonyms for the word “pride.”  They are: rejoicing, glory or glorying, boasting, and exalted.  Check it out.    Gal. 6:4, 2 Cor. 5:12, 7:4, and 8:24, and James 1:9.  I’m still going to take a little pride in coming up with this proverb because a proverb is not universally true.  It represents what is normally true.  And you can decide whether my pride is on the negative side or positive side.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

