Help Needed

Tuesday, Feb. 24
We are encouraged to encourage one another. There is a bit of a danger here. I can do it with a wrong spirit or attitude. People like to be praised and if I praise someone to make him feel good, it might be simply feeding his ego. Such a result could cause the person to return the praise to make me feel good. And if behind my praise is the thought that I will be praised, it is doubly bad. We don’t need to stroke each others egos. They’re already big enough! But there is a place for encouragement. Barnabas was known as an encourager. Paul, as a renowned servant of God, needed encouragement. On one occasion God appeared to him in Corinth to encourage him. Acts 18:9-11. Paul was a great encourager to Timothy. Jesus was an encourager. When Peter denied him, he made a point to let Peter know that he was not abandoned, and would have an important job to do. Jesus will welcome us home with the words “Well done, good and faithful servant. . .” Yes, I know this is a parable, and yes, it’s future, but I believe this to be a reality when we enter into heaven. And even though it is future, it is encouraging right now. We are prone to criticize and slow to encourage. Giving encouragement is a delicate thing. The first issue is making sure we are doing it in love. And I mean love for the other person, not self love. If I have a genuine interest in supporting a brother in the faith, that’s good. If I sense a nudge by the Holy Spirit, that’s good. The net result should be to build up my brother to the praise and glory of God.

We are encouraged to encourage one another. There is a bit of a danger here. I can do it with a wrong spirit or attitude. People like to be praised and if I praise someone to make him feel good, it might be simply feeding his ego. Such a result could cause the person to return the praise to make me feel good. And if behind my praise is the thought that I will be praised, it is doubly bad. We don’t need to stroke each others egos. They’re already big enough! But there is a place for encouragement. Barnabas was known as an encourager. Paul, as a renowned servant of God, needed encouragement. On one occasion God appeared to him in Corinth to encourage him. Acts 18:9-11. Paul was a great encourager to Timothy. Jesus was an encourager. When Peter denied him, he made a point to let Peter know that he was not abandoned, and would have an important job to do. Jesus will welcome us home with the words “Well done, good and faithful servant. . .” Yes, I know this is a parable, and yes, it’s future, but I believe this to be a reality when we enter into heaven. And even though it is future, it is encouraging right now. We are prone to criticize and slow to encourage. Giving encouragement is a delicate thing. The first issue is making sure we are doing it in love. And I mean love for the other person, not self love. If I have a genuine interest in supporting a brother in the faith, that’s good. If I sense a nudge by the Holy Spirit, that’s good. The net result should be to build up my brother to the praise and glory of God.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

