The Mirror Check

Wednesday, Apr. 29

“God’s Word is designed to change you.” As I look in the mirror today, how am I different than I was yesterday? Last month? Five years ago? As I reflect on this, I realize that I didn’t earn an A. Maybe a B or a C. I can thank God for change that is in the right direction. Evaluating one’s spiritual maturity is good, but there are two “ditches” to avoid. I need to give God the credit for positive changes. Left to myself, I would be going the other direction. I also need to avoid being despondent, defeated or demoralized because of failure. I’m not condemned, I’m not cast aside, I’m still loved, I’m forgiven, I’m encouraged, and the future is bright. God is glorified and is to be praised for both sides of my evaluation. But let us not forget that God chastises those He loves. I still need to change!

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

