Hugging My Master

Monday, June 29

There are some stunning statements in Scripture. One of my favorites is Job 19:25-27. “I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God; I myself will see him with my own eyes . . . . How my heart yearns within me!” Consider: He knew God. He knew he was a sinner. He knew that God had redeemed him. Yet he probably had little or no knowledge of Christ and the incarnation, of the suffering on the cross, the resurrection, or the gospel and the church age. Consider: He knew that he would die, but that he would live again. Consider: He knew that his redeemer would at some specific time set foot on this earth and that he would see him with his own eyes. Consider: He had such a close relationship with God that he yearned for the time that he would be with him. I marvel at all this. And the yearning is not one-sided. Jesus yearned for the same thing. “Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.” John 17:24. Dan envisions it this way: When I hug my Master I will be hugging flesh and bone—yet eternal deity as well.” His humanity does not limit his deity, nor does his deity limit his humanity. He is forever man, a human being, and my older brother. I yearn to hug him, too. There will be no greater joy in heaven than being with Jesus. I think I will hug Job, too.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

