A Preacher’s Problem

Wednesday, Aug. 12

It’s easier to preach ten sermons than it is to live one. I’ve preached quite a bit in the past and it was often in the back of my mind that my message was precisely what I needed. [Maybe that’s why I chose it.] Obviously, the preacher has to acknowledge a weakness rather than come across as “holier than thou.” I’ve heard a number of preachers expressing this problem, so I know I’m not alone. But it’s the same issue for all of us every day. Our lives are always preaching a sermon! We can come across as “I’m better than you; I wouldn’t have done that.” We can commiserate by taking the view that we all do it. “It’s human nature and can’t be helped.” Or we can say “Let’s deal with it. Here’s how to do it.” Of course the sermon will have much more effect if the preacher demonstrates that he is working on the problem. It should always be WE. We’re all “running the race.” Sanctification will never be completed in this life. The church was designed for us to help each other to become more like Christ. We are responsible for each other, preacher included. The preacher has three responsibilities. pinpoint the problem. he is to teach us how to find a solution and he is to be a role mode. A corollary to this theorem: How much do you pray for your preacher?

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Preacher’s Problem

  1. Frieda and Stan Frazier says:

    Thanks for the reminder, Dave. We do pray for our pastor, but not enough. I’m sorry for that! Thanks for sharing every day. It’s like sitting across from you and chatting over a cup of coffee.

    • davelotz says:

      Good to hear from you. I don’t know anyone who prays “enough.” I know I don’t. In that arena of prayer, I’m a pauper. How much we miss out by not praying!

Leave a Reply

