“Why Me?”

Wednesday, Oct. 14                                                 

“Why me?”  You have heard many people say that, and you no doubt have said it a few times yourself.  Why did God allow Stephen to be stoned to death at a relatively young age while the Apostle John died a natural death when close to 100 years old?  There’s an interesting dialogue between Jesus and Peter shortly before Jesus ascended into heaven (John 21:15 ff.).  After instructing Peter to feed His sheep Jesus told Peter in somewhat veiled words that he would die on a cross.  Peter’s immediate reaction was what would happen to John.  In a sense he was saying “Why me?  Why not John?”  Most of the time our “Why me?” is in the context of some negative experience such as a car accident, a health issue, or perhaps loss of a job.  Rarely do we say “Why me?” when something good happens.  What triggered this little homily is when I got to thinking about my brother, Ron, a few days ago.  He was just a year older than I but he died several years ago.  He first wife died some years before that.  They also lost a son before he was a year old to some heart defect.  I have not experienced any of those things.  My wife of 62 years is still with me at the age of 85.  My reaction is “Why me?”  It made me realize that there are so many good things coming from the hand of God every day, and I seldom ask why He blesses me so.  When I sit down to a lovely meal created by my wife, I should say “Why me?”  When I go to sleep in a nice bed and my electric blanket is keeping me nice and snug, and I realize that there are millions of people with no house, let alone a bed, I should say “Why me?”  When I get to my closet in the morning to pick out a shirt and pair of pants, and I see 20 or so shirts, about 15 pair of pants and about a dozen pair of shoes, I should say “Why me?”  I will confess to you that I don’t do this.  But I should.  And I should let the Lord know that I am grateful.  I’m reminded of the ten lepers that were healed of leprosy.  Only one returned to thank Jesus.  But don’t just look at the nine lepers.  And don’t look at me.  Look in the mirror.  And make some adjustments.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

