Scenic Routes

Friday, Nov. 13                                                                      

“The really happy person is the one who can enjoy the scenery when he has to take a detour.”  We are all familiar with the “scenic route” and we joke about it, which is probably the best way to handle it.  It is a lot better than grumbling or pointing the finger at some unknown culprit.  When our minds get in gear, we all recognize the necessity of detours.  My biggest problem, though, is when the detour is of my own making, that is, when I make a wrong turn and it takes ten or fifteen minutes to get back on track.  That’s when I get disgruntled.  I usually come to terms with it, though, and choose to be reasonably pleasant with my passengers.  But I admit I’m not overly impressed with the scenery on those occasions.  Going back to the quotation, it calls into question just how happy a person I am.  With all the blessings God pours out on me, how can I be anything but happy.  It boils down to where my contentment comes from.  Am I focused on God and His input into my life or am I motivated by selfish interests?  A “scenic tour” is just a microcosm of a much bigger issue.  There are numerous other situations every day where my attitude reveals my heart.  My “heart condition” depends on my relationship with God.  If I am “in the Word” and have quality time in prayer, I can handle the “scenic route” and all the other bumps in the road as I go through the day.  So the next time you make a wrong turn, think about how you started out your day.  That’s something you have control over.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

