Enticing Icing

Tuesday, Feb. 23                                                        

Mt. 11:28-30:  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden light.”  I had always understood that passage as an invitation to an unbeliever to come to Christ to be saved.  That was before I read the letter recently received from Troy and Michelle Gallagher, missionaries in Germany.  They spoke of being gradually worn out by their five year term in Germany.  They are getting ready for a break from it, not that a year in the States would do a whole lot for getting unburdened.   Trust me.  I’ve been there.  Anyway, they looked in the right place for rest.  They turned to Mt. 11:28-30.  Good move!  As the Gallaghers put it, before we can take advantage of the invitation to come to Christ for rest, we need to admit that we are weary and burdened.  Before we can take up his yoke and learn from him, we must admit our inadequacy.  It is so easy to turn to human resources to find rest for our souls.  We also tend to look elsewhere for knowledge and wisdom.  We resist being yoked up to anything that would cramp our style.  We want to do it our way.  Jesus took care of that one, too.  He is gentle and humble.  He will not inflict us with heavy burdens.  Being yoked to Him is “easy.”  He did His best to make His invitation enticing.  Icing on the cake!  Yes, the Gallaghers went to the right place.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

