Rubbish

Wednesday, May 18

“The future should be important for you. That’s where you will spend the rest of your life.”—Bil Keane, in “Family Circle.” [Actually, “Family Circus” is now written by son, Jeff.] Grandma is speaking to her grandchildren. As usual, she was giving some excellent advice. The concept is foreign to most children, who are mostly thinking of the “here and now.” But from what I know about the Keanes, there is a greater message here. For Christians, the future includes all eternity. With eternity in view, we need to prepare for it. In fact, it is far more important than preparing for a future in this dying world. Earthly life focuses on “mundane” things, what this world has to offer. Education is a concern because it can benefit our future. Planning and hard work lead to financial security, owning a house, taking care of a wife and children, and an IRA. The apostle Paul would call all that garbage. With eternity in view how we spend our time on earth takes on a different meaning. “But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ . . . I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish. . . I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. . . one thing I do . . . straining toward what is ahead . . . I press on . . .”   Phil. 3:7-14. I don’t think Paul owned a house or an IRA. OK, I’m not advocating selling your house or scrapping your IRA: I’m just trying to put things in perspective. Is eternity more important than these few short years on earth? If it is, your life will show it. I think Bil Keane (and Jeff) would agree with this.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

