Search Me

Wednesday, May 25                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

There is nothing that is too trivial for God. This is well pictured in Psalm 139. David is waxing eloquent about how God knows him. He starts out with “O Lord , you have searched me and known me.” I think the truth of this Psalm is not limited to David. It’s a picture of how God knows every one of us. You would have to read all 24 verses to get the full picture, but here’s a sample. God says he knows when I sit down and when I rise, when I go out and when I lie down. He knows my thoughts before I even think them. He knows what I’m going to say before I say it. He created my soul before I was born. All of my days were recorded in a book before the day I was born. His thoughts of me are more numerous than the grains of sand on all the beaches. That’s awesome, but there’s more. God doesn’t just know me—He loves and cares for me. And that’s still not all. Going back to verse one, He searches me. That means that God has a purpose for me. David gets back to that at the end of the Psalm: “Search me, O God, and know my heart, test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me and lead me to the way everlasting.” David really laid it on the line! I’m not so sure I would feel comfortable praying that prayer. But it gives me great confidence to call on God, not just for the big things, but for the smallest things that concern me. He understands me. loves me, cares for me, forgives me, and is merciful and gracious. And I can call for help at any time—there is nothing too trivial. May I fulfill the purpose He has for me!

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

