Wise Guys and Fools

Thursday, June 2

Somebody called me a wise man a few days ago.  I’m not used to that and wasn’t sure how to reply, so I didn’t say anything.  And I guess that was wise.  Maybe if someone called me a “wise guy” it might make more sense.  I later ran across this verse in James that describes godly wisdom, and it gave me a measure of relief that I kept my mouth shut.  James 3:17. “But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, without uncertainties or insincerity.”  What a standard!  Who can measure up to that?  Just meditate on that for awhile, and you will understand why I was glad I had kept silent.  But it is a marvelous measuring stick.  If every time I begin to think highly of myself, I would be wise enough to read this verse, it would bring me back down to reality.  On the other hand, it should motivate me to improve, to pray for an added measure of those godly traits, to conform to Christ, to be more fruitful, and to love people more.  Maybe I should write this verse out in big letters and post it on my mirror.  I probably will still not be comfortable in case again someone calls me a wise man.  Remember the old adage “It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and prove it.”

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

