Why Go to Church?

Tuesday, Aug. 16                       

Why should anyone go to church?  Why should I go to church?  This question is probably germane only for Christians, although many have come to Christ as their Savior by going to church.  I admit that there are times that I just don’t feel like going to church.  But I also know that when I go with that attitude, I almost always end up glad that I went.  Anyway, here are a few reasons why people go to church.  1. It’s a duty.  Heb. 10:25.  “Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another . . .”  So we are expected to go to church, but this verse also gives us a reason for going, to encourage one another.  Interestingly enough, the reason is not self centered.  Our sinful nature cries out “What am I going to get out of this?”  Which leads to a second reason to go to church.  2. To be spiritually fed.  We can study the Bible at home on our own.  But do we?  Plus we need the input of others.  I never fail to learn something new and pertinent when I listen to a sermon.   My spiritual growth would be miniscule without the insights and encouragement of others  3.  To help a brother to grow.  The Bible teaches us that “we are our brother’s keeper.”   God has made us responsible for the welfare of our fellow believers.  And we receive in equal measure  from them.  4. To worship God.   I’ve heard people say that they can worship God at home and don’t need to go to church.  Maybe so, but this view smacks of “cop out” and “lame excuse.”  There is nothing like corporate worship.  There are other reasons why people go to church and a lot of reasons why some people don’t go to church.  Maybe the above reasons will help you.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

