Opinions Don’t Count

Wednesday, Aug. 17                          

“The world is changed by your example, not by your opinion.” Novelist Paulo Coelho.  This man was the most prolific and acclaimed Portuguese author of all time.  His most famous book was The Alchemist, which touched many lives, including Bill Clinton and Oprah Winfrey.  I  don’t think Mr. Coelho would be my first choice for getting spiritual advice, but he has a lot to offer in terms of living a meaningful life.  The above quotation is a good example.  We all want to have some kind of niche in history.  We want to be recognized for something.  If people are drawn to me at all, it won’t be to hear my opinion on something.  In fact, I find that people in general are not particularly interested in any of my opinions.  The word “example” is the key word in the quotation.  It is not a particular idea or even an isolated act; it’s how I live my life.  It’s what drives me.  It’s the real me.  It’s the whole package.  I recently had a birthday and like most people, received a number of birthday cards.  Not one of them quoted something I said.  No one mentioned some thing I had done.  But I found the word “example” on more than one card.  That was meaningful to me.  I know we’re not supposed to be proud, so let’s just say it pleased me.  I’m not going to have a great impact on the world, but maybe I can touch a few lives.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Opinions Don’t Count

  1. Stan and Frieda Frazier says:

    Dave I appreciated your post today about leaving impressions and being an example. I feel that you and Elizabeth have impacted more lives than you will ever know! You’ve always been a blessing to Stan and me over the almost 50 years we’ve known one another. Keep it up dear friend. Eternity is going to be a BIG, WONDERFUL surprise to you and many others. 🙂
    Stan and Frieda Frazier

Leave a Reply

