Reporting for Duty

Friday, Sept. 23                                  

Sometimes when I’m trying to sleep, my body is in neutral while my mind is in overdrive.  My mind is supposed to be directing my body, but my body doesn’t cooperate.  It has been busy all day and it’s time to recharge the batteries.  Maybe my mind was more in neutral during the day and is not ready for recharging!?  As I was lying awake at 4:00 A.M, thinking about this, it occurred to me that this is analogous to my relationship with God.  He is the head of the Church.   He is my Lord and I am his servant.  He is my commander and I am a soldier.  I imagined myself standing before God and saying “Private Dave Lotz reporting for duty, sir.”  I confess that that is not my normal daily routine.  I can’t speak for you, but I know my natural inclination is to be in neutral when God wants me to get to work.  Using the military analogy, my tendency is not to look for orders, but to lay out my own agenda for the day.  If I did this in the military, I would be reprimanded, thrown in the brig, or get a dishonorable discharge.  Some soldiers go AWOL, which also leads to serious trouble.  Why doesn’t God immediately let me know who’s in charge, or dish out penalties?  Instead, He is loving, gracious, patient, encouraging, and merciful.  Paul’s appeal in Rom. 12:1 is pertinent here.  “I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.”  Every morning it should be:  “Lord you love me so much.  Here am I; send me.”

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

