Face to Face Encounters

Sunday, Nov. 13                     

It’s awesome to think that I can please the eternal, holy, and sovereign God, the Creator of the universe.  Biblical accounts of encounters with God reveal how serious this is.  Daniel fell face down on the ground, awestruck and fearful.  John did the same in Rev. 1:7.  Isaiah said “Woe is me, for I am undone,  because I am a man of unclean lips and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for mine eyes have seen the  King, the Lord of hosts.” When Moses wanted to see God in person,  God made it clear that seeing God was to die—simply because God cannot tolerate sin.  All these men were godly men, noted in Scriptures as outstanding in their devotion to God.  Contrast their responses when face to face with God to the way we approach God in prayer.  At the very least we are casual, maybe more like crass disrespect.  We would not treat President Obama that way.  And Obama is not exactly in the same ball park with Almighty God.  God wants us to come to Him.  He wants our fellowship, which is hard to fathom.  He is gracious and loving.  He treats us as beloved sons.  But He should be duly respected.  Whenever I set out to pray, I need to take a few moments to think about whom I am addressing.  He is not “the man upstairs.”  I should be in awe of Him, and in awe of His allowing me to approach Him.  May my approach and my entire life please Him.  I will be amply rewarded if I can do that.  A “well done” from Him will be quite sufficient.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

