I Think, Therefore I Am

Sunday, Mar. 26                       

Rene Descartes:  Latin:  “Cognito ergo sum.”  It is translated in English “I think, therefore I am.”  Descartes was ruminating over the idea that some things can’t be doubted.  He concluded that since he had the capacity to doubt, he must exist.  Or, at least, I think that’s what he meant.  It appears quite convoluted to me, like a dog trying to catch his own tail.  In any case, it probably won’t rock your boat if I don’t understand it, and it probably won’t change your life if you don’t understand Descartes, either.  But if that helped him to realize that he exists, maybe it did him some good.  To me, the fact that I exist is like an axiom in mathematics; it’s assumed, or simply so obvious that it doesn’t need further thought or explanation, let alone proof.  In math, it’s a starting point for moving on to greater truth.  I hope that did that for Descartes. The Bible considers existence as axiomatic, but it also reveals the source of man’s existence.  God did it, and if you want to pursue the logic of it, God also had a purpose for it.  The Bible also reveals the options we have, not only for satisfaction and happiness in this life, but in the life to come.  Seems quite logical to me, even though I don’t understand all of it.  Using another math term, the Biblical revelation of truth is “necessary and sufficient.”

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

