My Time

Wednesday, Mar. 29                       

Time is a funny thing.  I wake up in the night thinking I have slept half the night away and I look at the clock and it’s 12:30.  Some times I wake up to daylight and wonder where the night went.  Several things could be the culprit—tiredness, sickness, worry, or what’s on the docket for tomorrow.  What’s worse is that I think of time as MY time instead of realizing that time is a gift from God.  Psalm 90, the only Psalm in our book of Psalms written by Moses, focuses on time.  Moses is making a plea here for God to relent about Israel’s wandering through the desert for 40 years because of their rebellion.  Without going into the whole Psalm, just let me point out that time is a gift from God.  We can treat it as though it’s ours, but God has given us just so much time to live this life, and then it’s gone.  I don’t brood over this, but I know I squander a lot of time.  Every time I use an hour for some vain purpose, I’m wasting an hour that God intended me to use for him.  I’m revealing more about me than I’m comfortable with, but I watch sports and an occasional movie on TV, and I enjoy doing crossword puzzles.  OK, I haven’t been in a movie house for years, not that I have scruples about it.  And I can’t remember the last time I read a novel.  To each his own!  We all spend time on things that are worthless in terms of eternity.  There are, of course, mundane things such as eating and sleeping, or fixing a leaky faucet.  And we probably should take a bath once in a while.  But there are still things that need to be curtailed.  I’m not saying that we shouldn’t have  time for rest and relaxation.  But when my prayer life is dismally short, something needs to change.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

