Dangers in the Dark

Wednesday, July 26                      

John deals with lack of fellowship among Christians, which hinders the work of the Church.  He puts it in terms of walking in darkness (1 John 1:6).  This is an appropriate analogy.  It reminds me of an incident in my life in Bolivia.  I’m not proud of this episode, but share it to make a point.  One time at our school in Bolivia I was heading to our dorm from the school kitchen after the lights were shut down for the night.  It was total darkness, not even a star in sight.  With outstretched arms I managed to walk up the sidewalk and through the gate toward the dorm, which was about 100 yards away at the end of the soccer field.  I could see nothing.  I carefully groped my way along, hoping I was going in the right direction.  I did OK until I ran into a bush.  I finally figured out that I had gone across the soccer field into a wooded, bushy area.  This is where a bit of panic came in.  I didn’t know what to do, but finally decided to just stand there until a truck passed by on the nearby road.  There’s not a lot of traffic on this road at night, but I waited.  After a few uncomfortable minutes a truck went by.  I was able to get my bearings and get to the dorm—rather quickly, by the way.  OK, I’m not too proud of this night time adventure, but it serves a purpose.  It tells me that it’s not good to walk in the dark.  John may not have had a similar experience, but he definitely picked a good analogy.  Walking in the dark is dangerous.  Fortunately, I was not near a raging river or on a high cliff.  The alternative is to walk in the light.  It’s our choice.  Christ is the light, and the nearer we are to him, the more we are in the light.  I’ve made my point.  I leave the rest to you.  Have a good day walking in the light.

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

