Progress in the Process

Tuesday, September 1                                                                                                                     I have another problem that I don’t mind sharing with you.  I enjoy studying the Bible.  It’s rich, powerful, and pertinent.  I learn a lot, but often come across things that baffle me.   But my problem is not what I don’t understand; it’s living out what I do understand.  However, if I wait until I’m living out all I understand, I would never study the Bible again.  Gratefully, God understands that, and is patient and encouraging.  So while I’m still working on patience, for example, I can learn more about prayer or perseverance.  Phil. 2:12-13.  “. . . work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.”  Working out our own salvation is not working to be saved, but working to become a mature Christian after being saved.  Furthermore, to desire to become righteous as well as becoming righteous won’t happen without God working in us.  Peter gives us the flip side of this in 2 Pet. 1:5-7.  “. . . make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love.”   I will study all I want, work at being righteous, and trust God for the power to do it. 

This entry was posted in Crumbs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment